The village of Yangan sits on Swan Creek at the head of the picturesque Swanfels Valley. The town was developed to serve the industries of the Swanfels Valley, with a police station, school and church existing prior to 1884.
The sandstone used in many of Warwick’s magnificent buildings including the police station and town hall, was quarried in this area.
The Yangan Masonic Hall, acquired by Yangan Lodge in 1912, was originally built as the School of Arts (circa 1898). Made of local timber, it stands today as a distinctive landmark and symbol of the town’s former prosperity.