The prosperity and pioneering heritage of Mackay is reflected within the Central Business District, a collection of beautifully preserved buildings and art, which give an insight into the region's diverse history.
Join Mackay Visitor Information Centre volunteers on the Heritage Walk, a guided stroll through Mackay's Central Business District to view buildings of architectural significance, many from the 1930's Art Deco era.
Despite being settled in 1862, many of Mackay's earliest buildings were destroyed in a devastating cyclone in 1918. Many of the re-built structures were from the 1920 to 1940 era, making the style of Mackay's Central Business District unique for a Queensland city.
The 90-minute walk includes historic structures that are listed with the National Trust, including the Mackay Court House, the Town Hall, Holy Trinity Parish Church and the Masonic Temple.
This walk can also be done as a self-guided expedition. Visit the Mackay Visitor Information Centre on Nebo Road for a copy of the Heritage Walk brochure and to enquire about times to join a guided tour. Guided tours are seasonal and subject to change.
The Old Mackay Court House opened in April 1938 and is an excellent example of neo-Georgian style architecture, popular with State Government architects in the 1930s. This gem in the history of Mackay is still used today as a courthouse and police buildings. Continue North on Brisbane Street and follow the roads to the left to reach Mackay Town Hall. Designed by Arthur Rigby and built in 2912, the Mackay Town Hall is one of the few buildings that still stands after the devastating 1918 cyclone.
Walk south on Sydney Street and turn right onto Gordon Street to find the Holy Trinity Parish. The columns supporting the arch of the entry and the circular rose-stained glass window above the entrance is a fine example of Spanish Mission-style architecture. The area has been the centre of Anglican Church life in Mackay since 1870.
Across the street from Holy Trinity Parish you'll find the impressive Masonic Temple. It's a building that stands out in the city of Mackay. First thing you'll notice is the four striking columns that dominate the entrance. The Temple was built in 1924 by William and Frank Guthrie who went on to construct many other well-known buildings in the city.