The South Sea Islander Church and Hall commemorates the enormous contribution provided by the South Sea Islander community in establishing a viable sugar cane industry in Bundaberg. The hall itself was built circa 1920 to cater to the spiritual needs of the South Sea Islander population who were harvesting sugar at Fairymead Plantation.
In 1995 the South Sea Islander Church and Hall was relocated to its current position, near the Bundaberg Cemetery. The current location was the place of many South Sea Islander burials. A memorial garden was established over the unmarked graves housed in the current location.
The South Sea Islander Church and Hall is still used today and provides a tangible link between the community and the experience of the South Sea Islander Ancestors.