Original Maryborough Town Site

Maryborough, Fraser Coast Area

Pioneer graves help to create a sense of history when visiting the Original Maryborough site, known as the Wide Bay Village, it was first settled by Aldridge and the Palmer Brothers in 1848, although George Furber had set up a store and wharf on the opposite bank a year earlier. It was largely abandoned by the mid 1850s in favour of the deeper port downstream, the city's current location. The town was renamed Maryborough in January 1849 after the death of the Governor's wife, Lady Mary Fitzroy.

Located on the banks of the Mary River, about four kilometres from the city centre, the 30 hectare site has interpretive signage, walkways and trails along the creek frontage, pioneer graves, picnic tables, barbecue facilities and toilets.

Facilities

  • BBQ Facilities
  • Car park

Other Information

Family Friendly:

Family friendly – please refer to operator's website for services and facilities.
Aldridge Street
Maryborough, Fraser Coast Area
Queensland
Australia

Find What's Nearby

Choose a category:
Events
Displaying 1-2 of 2
Sort by:
Show:

Mission Beach Monster Market

Multiple Locations
Free Entry
16 April 2017
The Monster Market at Mission Beach is held at Marcs Park, a tremendous location on a grassed sports field with a large undercover area and on the same site as Mission Arts. Markets operate between 7.

Mission Beach Markets

Multiple Locations
Free Entry
5 March 2017
Held on the first and third Sunday of each month with between 60 and 90 stalls, the Mission Beach Market is held in the park opposite the Hideaway Caravan Park in Porter Promenade. Markets operate between 7.
No Results Message
Displaying 1-2 of 2
Sort by:
Show:

Explore the Region