Laurel Bank Park is a beautiful parkland close to Toowoomba's city centre, featuring spectacular manicured gardens, a scented garden, a playground, picnic area and croquet greens.
As well as containing a collection of exotic trees, the park is home to the Scented Gardens. This unique 'garden within a garden' was created from ideas presented by the Downs Association of the Blind, and occupies approximately half a hectare of the park's four and a half hectares. Fragrant blooms, herbs and shrubs grow in raised beds. Playground equipment and a gazebo complete the park.
Prior to 1932 the park was owned by Mr Samuel George Stephens. In 1932 Mr Stephens donated the land to the people of Toowoomba, making the Toowoomba City Council official custodian.
The gardens were designed by Mr Stephens himself before he handed them over. Mr Stephens was known to many as 'the man of flowers', and it's because of his love of flowers that he asked that the land not be used as a sporting facility, only the Croquet Greens along Herries Street were permitted. The Laurel Bank Hall was built during World War II to be used as a mess hall for the United States naval troops.